Funny things my Chinese students said

 

Nina: *points at my chest, points at hers and makes actions for big boobs*

 

Me: can you play the piano?

Candy: piano

 

Me: Danny, what's this? *points at an ant*

Danny: OSCAR! (the name of another student in class)

 

Me: what's your name?

Danny: fine, thank you

Me: how are you?

Danny: how are you?

 

Me: say 'fox'

Danny: foh-kuh-see

 

Me: what's rule number two?

Danny: look and Danny (it's look and listen)

 

Me: *walks into class to see my teaching assistant helping students sound out CVC words (aka consonant-vowel-consonant words like 'bat' or 'sun')

Emily, the TA: *writes F U X* fuh-uh-ks FUX. Sound it out

Students: FUH-UH-KS FUX

 

Mia: my don't no family (she meant to say I don't have a family, which is untrue anyway)

 

Me: how do you spell guitar?

Candy: guh-ee-tar guitar

 

Lucas: *singing Kye's name to the melody of The Next Episode, Dr Dre*

 

Cindy: I don't like boys

 

Me: where do you live?

Kiki: closet

 

Write a comment

Comments: 0